24
Dec
10

LAST ENTRY OF 2010


I had to warp the year with a blog entry. I still ask myself why I had to do it and still do not have the answer. Usually the things we do for the last time every year tend to help us wash away the miseries of that year and usher new beginnings… of more misery.

So, for a change, this entry will be about the things I learned this year. Not all these are good, as a matter of fact, most are not. But we know by now that to learn, we look at what not to do rather than what to do, or at least that’s what I thought…

So Here’s what I learned this year, in no particular order.

I learned that some people are so meaningless that the only importance they earn is the one they give themselves.

I learned that politics were created by those very same meaningless people to try to rally more meaningless people to hold a wild “importance party”, with both meanings of the word “party…

I learned that in Lebanon, being nice is translated as being lame, and being mean as being smart.

I learned that we still can’t tell the difference between a smart guy and a wise guy.

I learned that a tribunal is more important than bandwidth.

I learned that a tree on the border is more important than electricity.

I learned the price per head in an election campaign is more important than price of gas and bread.

I learned that when blogging around the world is to educate, in Lebanon, it’s just to vent.

I learned that Twitter does help make good friends… unlike Facebook.

I learned that when anywhere else in the world people debate whether they should live to work or work to live, in Lebanon our choices are die for work or work to die.

I learned that you’re evaluated based on your cellular phone and your license plate numbers.

I learned that we camouflage our differences behind the word “diversity”, and our hatred behind the word “consensus”

I learned that you can’t mix religion with politics. I also learned that we never learned that one.

I learned that we rely on our history only to brag, and never to change.

I learned that “baseless rumor” is not English. Every rumor has a base.

I learned that losing a friend is as bad as how strong that friendship was.

I learned that family is the real essence of friendship, and that’s why we love to consider friends as family.

I learned that Lebanese will never learn to read their memories; but just to state them.

I learned that if you do not love what you do, you will never do what you love.

I learned that where it takes two to tango, it takes much more to make a nation.

I learned that we forgot that “holiday” comes from “Holy” and “day”.

I learned that the amount of knowledge you possess is measured by the amount of knowledge you give.

 

But what I mostly learned this year was that everything I learn is still a drop in the ocean of what I ignore.

Enjoy your Holy Days.

 

10 Responses to “LAST ENTRY OF 2010”


  1. December 24, 2010 at 13:45

    Yes, Twitter does help make good friends… like you. Merry Christmas and I look forward to reading you in the New Year 🙂

  2. December 24, 2010 at 17:10

    Well, we should resolve to do more educating and less venting in the blogosphere this year! As much as I enjoy these post, I have to be honest and do say that I do miss your branding posts, and I’m quite sure that I’m not the only one. So, here is to a new year filled with things you love to teach and love to talk about.

    And yes, you can make great friends through twitter. Although I really do hope to see you more! 😀 Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  3. 4 Marina
    December 24, 2010 at 23:01

    One of the most beautiful posts wrapping up the year gone by in meaningful realisations.
    May it this time be food for action, and not just thought.
    A Happy New Year. Healthier, more productive, a step forward.

  4. December 27, 2010 at 20:22

    I really liked this post, thanks for sharing some of your wisdom. The theme of your post bought to mind one of my favorite quotes: “we the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.”
    But seriously, good for you for being open to learning all those great things you learned. Happy holy days :p

  5. December 30, 2010 at 14:10

    Amazing post.. very true.. I liked it very much 🙂

    Wish you a happy new year..


Leave a Reply

Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,248 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

Follow me @ ebyking

wordpress stats plugin

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
Reason To Believe by Ibrahim N. Lahoud is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at ilahoud.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at htt://ilahoud.wordpress.com.

